Search the Loft

Angels of Light: New Mother (2xLP, 1999/Re 2005, ltd 400)

Important Records IMPREC056 white vinyl

Used tags: , ,

Price: €136.00

White vinyl edition, limited to 100 copies!

Grading cover: NM/NEW | Grading vinyl: NM/NEW 

"New Mother was the first post-Swans album of songs from Michael Gira. It was released in 1999. It was written, sung, and produced by M. Gira with contributions from a variety of players ranging across the musical spectrum, including: Bill Rieflin (ex Swans, Ministry)-piano, bass, Farfiza and B3 organ, analog synthesizer, acoustic guitar, etc. and background vocals; Christoph Hahn (ex-Swans)-lap steel, classical and electric guitar, Cassio organ, back. vocals; Larry Mullins (Iggy Pop Band, the Residents)-vibraphone, timpani, tabla, percussion, back. vocals; Thor Harris (Lisa Germano Band)-hand drums, percussion, glockenspiel, back. vocals, water bowls, etc; Phil Puleo (ex-Swans, Congo Norvelle, Cop-Shoot-Cop)-percussion, melodica, organ, mouth harp, etc.; Julia Kent (Rasputina)-cello; Bill Bronson (ex-Swans, Congo Norvelle, the Gunga Din)- bass guitar; Joe McGinty (Psychedelic Furs, The Losers Lounge NYC)- upright piano; Michelle Amar (Sulfur)- background vocals; Hahn Rowe (Feotus, Mimi Goesse Band)- violin; and Birgit Staudt (B Blush)- accordion." (Young God Records)

"A mix of powerful, complex and imaginative American songwriting that moves from country melancholy to raspy blues to dark and psychotic narrative grooves, all delivered with gently plucked layers of acoustic and electric guitars that slowly unravel into psychedelic folk lullabies." (Important Records)

Angels of Light: New Mother

Angels of Light: New Mother